Adventurous Chapters; Life

These past couple of months I find myself falling into the pattern of life. As soon as I wake up it’s almost as if I have lost all thoughts because I’m so used to my routine. If you have a time you specifically have to be at work (most of us do) you solely concentrate on making it at that time. My entire thoughts are concentrating on beating the clock. For example, the other day I was rushing through traffic AFTER work. Why? I had nowhere to be, nor did I have a time schedule to follow. I am always trying to beat time, for some reason I think if I beat it, that will allow me more time for my life. But, It’s doing just the opposite. I am concentrating on something that is actually STOPPING me from living. I can take that one step further and say, we are always trying to better ourselves in life. Bettering ourselves can be a good thing, but when we put our life on pause because we haven’t quite reached that goal yet, is never really allowing ourselves to live. I always think to myself, “When I move and start my travels, that is when I will truly exist and feel free.”I have made myself feel better by continuously saying “My repetitive day-to-day routines will all be worth it in the end.” I don’t want to look back at this part of my life and think, “Which part was I really I alive?” I know working and going to school full-time takes energy out of me, BUT I am going to make more of an effort to “wake up” so to speak. I love spending time with friends, each one is so unique and different. I made a list of things to do in my hometown that I haven’t done yet and I sent a copy to friends that live close by. I hope to check one-off once a week. I know I’m waiting to move, but I refuse to let my life be on pause. Each place you’re at in life, is a phase, but why not make them all adventurous chapters in your book? I love adventure, and maybe that is why I feel like I’m going CRAZY! I haven’t figured out if I need to accept the slow times in life or change them? I guess the key here is balance? It never hurts to re-evaluate ones life. Maybe, instead of feeling frustrated with myself, I can accept that I need balance. Too much of anything can be bad, so when I find myself continuously doing the same thing, I will simply switch it up. What I do know, is with my whole heart, I will cherish the small things in life. I definitely cherish family time, but what I don’t realize is there are so many ‘little things’ we don’t even notice until they’re gone. My challenge for myself is to really open my eyes and see the world. The present world I am in TODAY. Walking into a room and notice what color the ceiling is or what pictures are on the wall. Having awareness and passion for the world; living. I am going to just simply LIVE.

21 thoughts on “Adventurous Chapters; Life

  1. Being in the now is such a healthy way to live…all we have is now :)x

  2. timotheous128 says:

    This is such a powerful post, and so true! I find myself falling into that pattern far too often, sometimes to the point where I actually push friends away because I convince myself I’m too busy or don’t have the time. Life is to precious a thing to waste away like that, and living is to great a blessing to let die.

    Thanks for the reminder! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Megan says:

      You’re right, “living is to great a blessing to die.” I couldn’t have said it better. Sometimes we just have to re-evaluate where we are in life and make change. Its as simple and beautiful as that.

      Lots of love!
      Meg

  3. Solitary Druid says:

    Reminds me of the Reiki principles by Mikao Usui:
    At least for today:
    Do not be angry,
    Do not worry,
    Be grateful,
    Work with diligence,
    Be kind to people.
    Every morning and evening, join your hands in meditation and pray with your heart.
    State in your mind and chant with your mouth.
    For improvement of mind and body.

  4. leeleegirl4 says:

    Thank you so much for sharing this. I have let the little things of my life determine my happiness, or lack thereof. I have just been going through the motions and not enjoying life. This has been a wake-up call. I am going to create a list of things to do around my hometown and see how new experiences change my outlook on life for the better.

    • Megan says:

      I hope you are enjoying the things on your list! I need to plan one for this week. It’s a beautiful thing when we realize the potential of what we could be living. ๐Ÿ™‚ Lots of love to you.

      Meg

  5. Mousey Mama says:

    Once upon a time I felt this way, and perhaps many others feel this way at times… So important to live and take note of what is happening around you… I am going to try and live as best as I can too. =)

  6. Once there was a fisherman leaned back against his boat at the beach before sundown.
    A businessman walked by and asked why he wasnยดt working:

    Fisherman- Why should I. I have caught enough fish for today.
    Businessman- Well, so that you can catch more fish and buy another boat.
    – What would I do with that boat?
    – Hire someone and help you catch more fish.
    – Why?
    – So that you could catch even more fish and maybe finally have a whole fleet of your own.
    – But why?
    – So that you can enjoy life.

    The fisherman looked at the man, leaning against his boat and answered:

    But that is what I am doing now

    Keep up the good work. I love your posts Megan

    • Megan says:

      I read this to a group of people and I hope they had the same thoughts when I read it. This is beautiful. When we live simply it is much easier to not be blinded by the superficial things. Love is what carries us through, nothing else. Thanks for that.

      ๐Ÿ™‚ I enjoy your posts as well.
      Lots of love,
      Meg

    • Megan says:

      Sheila,
      You and I are a lot alike!! Thanks for the links. Even though this post is old, I feel this way often! That is why writing is so therapeutic, it also allows me to read my thoughts and learn from them. Thanks again!

      Lots of love,
      Megan

  7. Beautiful. Love your writing. Thanks for taking the time to stop by and taking a peek at my blog. It means a lot to me.
    I’m trying to sort out my life right now. So having someone to listen is so special, I cannot put it in words.
    Thank you!
    Will keep reading through your blog. You’re indeed a beautiful soul.

    • Megan says:

      I love your poetry, it is straight from the heart. If you ever need someone to talk to, you can email me at foreverbeautifulmegan@hotmail.com. : )

      I understand sorting your life out. I often feel like that, but sometimes there are things you cannot change and must be accepted. When we begin to accept the absolute, we can start to feel at peace.

      P.s Freedom does come from love. And when you find the right person, the pain getting there will be all worth it.

      Lots of Love,
      Megan

  8. Merridy says:

    Thank you for following me.. I look forward to getting to know you through your blogs!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

