What do you stand for?

There are things that define us, and then there are things that should not define us. I am becoming more and more at peace with my world. For me, it’s called accepting the things we cannot change. Spending energy on things that can change, accepting and loving the things we cannot. The world struggles with always wanting what we cannot have or what we are not. Most people can agree their family is not perfect. I spent a lot of my years wishing my family to be different. Wishing I had a father, but not looking at what some others may not have. I have the most wonderful, loving, imperfect mother. My mother once told me, “A friend is a true friend, if they accept you make mistakes and loves you anyway.” How refreshing is that? It means I can unintentionally hurt someone and they will still love me anyway. That is true love, true beauty. Accepting we live in an imperfect world and looking at it in a loving way. I am understanding more each day to have a healthy relationship with someone, we must accept their flaws as a part of who they are. Not loving someone for what they are, or what they do, but WHO they are. What do you stand for? Knowing what you stand for in life and passionately chasing after it will define you. The events that have happened in your life and how you choose to move forward, defines you. I want to passionately love one person. To show people that loving yourself can change their world. To let children know that they are all unique in their own way. Whoever I meet, I hope they know love is what I stand for. What do you stand for? If we could say it in a silent way, would our actions say the same? We are not perfect but we can spend our energy letting others know it’s okay to not be. We will still love you, and we hope to be loved in return.

7 thoughts on “What do you stand for?

  1. Your mom is right. That advice goes for your spouse as well. “If they know the worst thing I have done to them, is it okay?” In my case for Trent the answer was yes and so was his to me. What is that saying? If you stand for nothing you will fall for anything. So knowing what you stand for is VERY important! Great reflection post.

    • Megan says:

      “If you stand for nothing, you will fall for anything.” I love that. I’m so glad you have found someone that accepts you for you. It is much easier when you both have acknowledged and accepted each others flaws. I have to know what I stand for in order to know what I want/dont want in a relationship. Thanks for that!

      Lots of love,
      Megan

  2. timotheous128 says:

    Words of wisdom, my friend, and beautifully said! Thanks so much for sharing! 🙂

  3. Addie says:

    Like you, love is what I stand for. You know what they say about being in love makes you care about everyone more, almost as if you’re in love with the whole world? It’s exactly what I dream about.

    Love this post. 😀

    • Megan says:

      Addie,
      I absolutely adore that! You and I are both the same, I dream of a love like that. Where you can only see the beauty in life because your love only allows you to see just that. What a beautiful thing that would be. One day! 🙂

  4. Perfect love!
    This is beautiful 🙂

Leave a Reply

